Reporting structure: the steps to follow

If you have been subject to discrimination, bullying or anything of that nature, these are suggested steps to take when reporting.

Discriminatory comments and actions:

A microaggression is defined as "indirect, subtle, or unintentional discrimination against members of a marginalised group" and often presents itself in the form of comments made by people.

*Pupils are encouraged to avoid anonymity so as to make dealing with situations easier. Otherwise, pupils may opt to have their confidante of choice represent them.



If pupils feel a comment is discriminatory in nature, they are encouraged to report it.

*Pupils are encouraged to avoid anonymity so as to make dealing with situations easier. Otherwise, pupils may opt to have their confidante of choice represent them.



Bullying:

Bullying

*Pupils are encouraged to avoid anonymity so as to make dealing with the situation easier. Otherwise, pupils may opt to have their confidante of choice represent them.

Bullying is defined as ongoing and deliberate misuse of power in relationships through repeated verbal, physical and/or social behaviour that intends to cause physical, social and/or psychological harm.

It is highly encouraged for pupils to report any incidents of bullying.



Other resources:

School statements (found on the website/app)

- •Confidante of choice (reporting structures)
- https://www.stmarysschool.co.za/uploads/files/Confidante_of_Choice.pdf
- •Anti-racism policy
- https://www.stmarysschool.co.za/uploads/files/Anti-racism-policy.pdf
- •Anti-bullying policy
- https://www.stmarysschool.co.za/uploads/files/Anti-bullying-policy.pdf
- Social Media policy

https://www.stmarysschool.co.za/uploads/files/Social-Media-Policy-forpupils-March-2020.pdf

*These documents are particularly important in outlining the school's stance as well as the school's commitment to combatting these issues.

Diversity committee

Zahraa Koor (head) Hannah de Lange (deputy head) Folasade Adebule (deputy head) Olivia Bean Danielle Grobbelaar Nyakallo Kodisang Isha Madhu Farai Mazarura Sally Mohlakola Azra Nosarka Bela Rowji Malaika Runyowa Yonela Siko

Yana Cai Jessica Curtis Zinathi Gwina Tara Hammond Aashi Madhu Thiya Kalan **Reitumetse Moreo** Gisele Murray Jessica Nobela Tswelelang Pitse Olivia Smith Lebone Tshetlo

Peer counsellors

Mokgadi Seema (head) Lynne Swingler (deputy head) Tamlin Klement Unathi Makhathini Mira Markovitz Nyasha Mazazrura Khethile Mukoki Tannah Proudfoot Malaika Runyowa Shamiso Shirilele Jessica Spalding-Jones Veronica Thongoana Melissa Welch Tatiana Williams

Tessa Brugman Abigail Coppola Olivia Krüger Hayley Laithwaite Emma Lowndes Ayanda Mabuza Zenande Mbatsha Langelihle Molefe Tanaya Moodley Saskia Neuhoff Amy Sharpe Rebecca Trickett

Student Representative Council (SRC)

SRC members

 SRC members are elected yearly by their peers in their form and house. Incidents reported to them will be escalated accordingly

• Head girls

 Incidents may be reported directly reported to the head girls who will escalate them accordingly