St Mary's Investec Hockey Festival

The finals of the St Mary’s Investec Hockey Festival saw last year’s winners, C & N Sekondere Meisieskool Oranje, battling it out against St Stithians Girls’ College for the coveted title.

The teams were closely matched and the game was thrilling. At full time, the score was drawn which put the two teams into a 5-minute golden goal play-off. After a brilliantly executed move, the team from Bloemfontein netted the winning goal. This saw them retain the trophy as defending champions.

Hoërskool Waterkloof and Eunice High School tied for third place. The St Mary’s School, Waverley, 1st team placed fifth, with the Western Cape Herschel Girls School taking the sixth position.

Owing to the unpredictable weather experienced, the four days were not stress-free. On the final day, play had to be suspended owing to lightning and thunderstorms. This meant that games for positions 15 to 24 had to be cancelled and teams were allocated draws.

A highlights package of the 16th  annual St Mary’s Investec Hockey Festival was broadcast on DSTV’s SuperSport.

Click here to view the highlights package

The final results are as follows:


1 C & N Sekondere Meisieskool Oranje

2 St Stithians Girls' College

3 Hoërskool Waterkloof and Eunice High School  


5 St Mary's School, Waverley, 1st

6 Herschel Girls School

7 Pearson High School and St Anne's Diocesan College


9 Paarl Gimnasium

10 Collegiate Girls' High School

11 Hoërskool Menlopark

12 Afrikaanse Hoër Meisieskool Pretoria

13 Durban Girls' College

14 Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof

Results in green - all allocated a draw owing to inclement weather

15 St John's DSG and Somerset College


17 Hoërskool Garsfontein and St Mary's DSG, Kloof


19 Pietermaritzburg Girls' High School  and Pretoria High School for Girls


21 Windhoek Girls' High School and Peterhouse Girls School


23 Brescia House School and Hoërskool DF Malan


25 The Wykeham Collegiate

26 Our Lady Of Fatima DCS

27 Kingswood College

28 Roedean School (SA)

29 Penryn College

30 St Marys DSG, Pretoria

31 St Mary's School, Waverley, festival team

32 Kingsmead College

Individual awards were made as follows:

Investec Out of the Ordinary Performance Trophy - Minke van Heerden (C & N Sekondere Meisieskool Oranje)
The Investec Academy  Promising Player Award - Ongi Mali (Pearson High School)
Goalkeeper of the Tournament - Tamsyn Copeland (St Stithians Girls' College)
Top Goal Scorers - Minke van Heerden and Mirie van Niekerk (both from C & N Sekondere Meisieskool Oranje)

Click here to view the dedicated St Mary’s Investec Hockey Festival website: